AI Guide

Scite.ai

Scite.ai is a tool designed to help search, access, and evaluate scientific literature.

Main features

• Literature search: In Scite.ai's search engine (Search), you can search for literature using either simple or advanced searches.
• Smart Citations: Scite.ai's algorithm analyzes citations to provide context and classifies citations as either supporting or contrasting.
• AI assistant: The platform includes an AI assistant that can answer questions and provide references based on the research articles that Scite.ai has access to.

Pros

• Extended citation search: Users can gain context about how and why an article has been cited, and whether the citation supports or contradicts the cited research.
• Dashboards: Users can save publications on dashboards and then use the AI assistant to respond strictly based on the content of a dashboard.
• Correct references: The AI assistant does not create false references. In a response from the assistant, it is always possible to see which citation was used to generate the answer.
• Table mode: The AI assistant can be set to respond in table mode, providing an answer from each source.

Cons

• Data protection: SDU has not made a data processing agreement with Scite.ai. Therefore, there is no assurance about what and how much data Scite collects from you.
• Limited access without a profile: Although you can use Scite.ai without creating a profile, you will not have access to all features.
• The platform does not have access to all research articles in the world, which means that there may be important research that is not included in Scite's database.

How to get started with Scite.ai
To access all the features of Scite.ai, you can create a profile. This allows you to save search history, create dashboards, and connect to ORCID to track citations to and from your own research.

Coverage

Scite.ai's advantage is that it can generate answers based on research articles using its AI assistant. There are no hallucinated references here, as one might experience in, for example, ChatGPT. All sources referenced in Scite actually exist.

Scite.ai has made agreements with the following publishers, giving Scite access to the full text of the published articles.

Additionally, Scite.ai looks into the free open data of some other providers. A closer overview can be seen here:

Access

You can access Scite.ai via the link below.

Alternatively, you can find Scite.ai via the library's A-Z Database List in Mimer.

1. Databases A-Z List opens.
2. Search for Scite.
3. Press the green Scite AI link.
   
4. And press "Access Database" in this view.
   
5. Before the database can finally open, you must log in.
   

Create an account or not?

You can create an account on Scite.ai, which you can then log in to when working in Scite.ai.

Pros:

• Scite.ai remembers search and chat history.
• Use of Dashboards is available.
• ORCID users can sync their data from ORCID to Scite.ai.
• Users can track their own publications and keep an eye on citations to and from these publications.
• Citation information from Journals and Organizations is available.

Cons:

• SDU Library does not have a data processing agreement with Scite.ai. Therefore, think carefully about the data you 'give' to Scite via prompts and uploads.

How to create a profile

1. Select Sign Up in the top right corner.
   
2. Enter name, SDU email, and desired password.
   Do NOT use the login options at the bottom, as they do not work with the library's access.

Learn more

The PowerPoint about Scite.ai below can be viewed in Edge if you are logged in with your SDU Office365 account.