Syddansk Universitetsbibliotek - LibGuides
Your access to information and data on companies depends to a large extent on the type of company in question. You can always begin by consulting the company’s own website.
Stock market quoted companies: finding information is easy, since there are specific requirements for them to provide information. Ticker symbol Lookup. Find the Ticker symbol for shares and other securities. See our databases.
Unquoted private companies and other types of companies, e.g. private limited companies: must report their annual accounts and additional company information. This information is open to all and can be found in for example the library’s databases – see them on this page. Company types – overview of abbreviations.
One-man firms: are usually not obliged to report their annual accounts. Consequently, only basic information is generally available.
The Bloomberg terminal is an integrated platform providing access to price quotes, financial market and trade data, news, and much more. Bloomberg covers all listed companies worldwide and contains information about more than 5 million bonds, stocks, commodities, currencies, and trusts. For more info, see the libguide: Bloomberg
The Library provides access to one Bloomberg terminal in our Finance Lab - book terminal via the link. Only SDU students and employees have access to the terminal.
Eikon provides international financial, economic, stock market and company data. Includes coverage of equities, stock market and bond indices, economic statistics, foreign exchange rates, interest rates, fixed income instruments and derivatives. Eikon desktop software allows data to be downloaded and exported and can be used to create graphics, reports and spreadsheets.
Eikon offers the world’s most comprehensive historical database for numerical macroeconomic and cross-asset financial data which started life in the 1960s as Datastream. Within Eikon you can access Datastream charting tools and analytics to help you work with data. Historical numerical financial database across all major asset classes with history back to the 1950s.
The Library provides access to Eikon from 2 teminals in our Finance Lab - book terminal via the link. Only SDU students and employees have access to the terminal.
Refinitiv (former Thomson Reuters) has also created a series of training videos to take you from the basics of Eikon up to advanced projects.
You can watch them here On-Demand Video Training
Main WRDS subscription are Compustat and CRSP. University of Southern Denmark (SDU) holds a subscription to a selection of the available databases.Access requires that you register. See how in the libguide.
Stock market prices can be found either directly on the stock markets’ websites or via a number of financial news services, but often you can find only the current prices; the history of prices is rare.
Free internet resources:
University Library of Southern Denmark Odense | Esbjerg | Kolding | Slagelse | Sønderborg +45 6550 2100 | firstname.lastname@example.org