Guides: Business Data guide (EN): Companies

Standards

Get access to Standards

IPR - Intellectual Property Rights

IPR is a term that refers to the protection of inventions and ideas. Read more...e p

Patents - why are they important?

Patents can give you important information about competitors and their inventions.

Most Western countries have now made their patent collections, 60 million, from around the world available online in the database Espacenet.

You can also see if a company has taken patents in the database Orbis. Choose the Tab Patents in Orbis Classic.

Espacenet Dette link åbner i et nyt vindue It contains data on more than 100 million patent documents from around the world. Supporting information can help you understand whether a patent has been granted and if it is still in force

Read more on our website Patents. Or maybe visit EUIPO Academy Learning Portal.

Company types

Your access to information and data on companies depends to a large extent on the type of company in question. You can always begin by consulting the company’s own website.

Stock market quoted companies: finding information is easy, since there are specific requirements for them to provide information. Ticker symbol Lookup. Find the Ticker symbol for shares and other securities. See our databases.

Unquoted private companies and other types of companies, e.g. private limited companies: must report their annual accounts and additional company information. This information is open to all and can be found in for example the library’s databases – see them on this page. Company types – overview of abbreviations.

One-man firms: are usually not obliged to report their annual accounts. Consequently, only basic information is generally available.

Companies - accounting and key figures and press coverage

Orbis is the most important databases for basic information on companies.

Orbis Dette link åbner i et nyt vindue
Detailed data on more than 45 million companies across the globe including Danish companies. You have access to accounting and key figures for the last 10 years for listed companies and for the last 5 years for the others. You can also find information about the management in the companies. The database can be used to find competitors based on industry codes. Read more about Industry codes under the tab Market Reports/Industry Reports
Navne & Numre Erhverv Dette link åbner i et nyt vindue
NB: You can change the user interface to English.
You have access to accounting and key figures for the last 5 years for all Danish companies. You can also find information about the management in the companies. The database can be used to find competitors based on industry codes.
For at eksportere data skal du lukke pop op-vinduet, hvor du får besked om at oprette en brugerprofil. Herefter kan du fortsætte med opsætningen af dit dataudtræk.

CVR - Central Business Register
The Danish state’s master register for information on businesses. Company accounts in CVR are free. Accounts are currently available back to 2000.
Open Corporates
Financial Times offers free access to information about more than 100 million companies across the globe.

Nexis Uni Dette link åbner i et nyt vindue
Full-text articles from international newspapers and news agencies. You can find press coverage of companies.
Infomedia Dette link åbner i et nyt vindue
DANISH ONLY: Full-text newspaper articles from all Danish newspapers. Use it for finding press coverage of companies and people (CEO, members of boards, etc.)
Kun adgang for ansatte og studerende ved SDU. Ingen adgang for hospitalsansatte.

Business Data guide (EN): Companies

Standards

IPR - Intellectual Property Rights

Patents - why are they important?

Company types

Companies - accounting and key figures and press coverage

Test your knowledge - Exercises for selected databases

Orbis (companies)

Orbis (competitors)

Orbis (job hunt)

Nexis Uni

Infomedia