Guides: Business Data guide (EN): Countries

Descriptions of countries

A country can be described via a number of different parameters. In most of the Library’s databases, you will find basic information on specific countries, as well as information on economics, politics, macro-economical, demographical and social data.

IMPORTANT - remember:

Other official suppliers of statistics
• Government departments
• Agencies and directorates
• Research institutions

Other unofficial suppliers of statistics
• Industrial organizations
• Research agencies
• Suppliers of news

Country information - Denmark

Statistics Denmark
Statistics Denmark is the central authority on Danish statistics, describing the Danish society. You can e.g. describe your demographic segment using data from here. Predefined tables.
Statistikbanken StatBank Denmark
Statbank Denmark contains detailed statistical information on Danish society. You can make your own tables about e.g. the households consumption of chocolate.

Country information - Europe

Eurostat
Eurostat is the statistical database of the European Union that contains comparable official statistics of all EU member states. Includes comparable statistics of key countries outside of the EU.
A good starting point is Statistics Explained, an official Eurostat website, presenting statistical topics in an easily understandable way.

A good starting point is Statistics Explained, an official Eurostat website, presenting statistical topics in an easily understandable way.

You will find links to the tables, so you can make your own tables.

USA

In the United States, there is no centralised statistical agency. The federal statistical system is decentralised and consists of 13 principal agencies whose main purpose is to collect and disseminate statistics. In addition, there are more than 100 agencies within agencies and departments, all involved in collecting data and producing statistics for their specific area.

The most important are the Bureau of the Census, which has the comprehensive statistics on population and business. The Bureau of Economic Analysis concentrates on national and regional economics. The Bureau of Labor Statistics focuses on labour markets and prices.

Country information - World-wide

Passport
Euromonitor’s international market reports on companies, industries and geographies. The focus is FMCG - Fast Moving Consumer Goods. The database also contains valuable statistics on e.g. market size, brand share and company share, and consumer profile analysis, including trends and lifestyles. Very often you also find In Depth information on a country including the operating environment - in terms of economic growth, the business environment, demographic trends and the income and spending priorities of the population.
Ingen walk in-brug
GlobalData Explorer (GDX)
International markets reports. Access to SWOT, Five forces and PESTLE analysis for all major companies, industries and geographies. For all companies you get a descriptions of organizations and operations, histories, management biographies, industry affiliations and products, main competitors, as well as financial data and analysis.
Kun adgang for ansatte og studerende ved SDU. Ingen adgang for hospitalsansatte.
Statista
A statistics portal that provides statistics and reports on a wide range of topics such as media and advertising, internet, groceries and convenience goods, retail and trade, sports and recreation, technology and telecommunications, transport and tourism.
According to Statista’s own information, there are statistics about more than 80,000 items from over 22.500 different sources. Statista’s geographical coverage is worldwide. Besides there are access to reports and analysis, consumer and market surveys and forecasts

Country information - World-wide

CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook (published by The Central Intelligence Agency, a department of the US intelligence service). Basic information on the countries of the world. Covers the following aspects: geography, population and society, economics, energy, communications, transportation, and military.
OECD Publications
Nearly all full text OECD publications including books and statistics, i.a. detailed statistics on foreign trade.
WDI Online (World Bank)
Statistics on more than 200 countries, based upon 2000 different indicators and numbers, which in some cases go back in time 50 years. Focus on social and economic conditions in the developing countries.
IMD World Competitiveness Online
Annual report on competitive strength of 60 countries. Comparing country competitiveness. You can convert the data into charts and tables.

GlobalEdge
International web-portal to e.g. industry sectors and associations. Use the various search options of Global Insight.

EconLit (Proquest)
Articles on economics issues including: capital markets, country studies, econometrics, forecasting, environmental economics, adjustment, labour market economics, monetary theory and urban economics.
Kun adgang for ansatte og studerende ved SDU. Ingen adgang for hospitalsansatte.

Business Data guide (EN): Countries

Descriptions of countries

IMPORTANT - remember:

Country information - Denmark

Country information - Europe

USA

Country information - World-wide

Country information - World-wide

Statbank Denmark

Passport

GlobalData Explorer

Statista