Guides: Business Literature Search guide: Databases

Publication type - Choise of database

Why search in subejct specific databases?

Relevance: Subject-specific databases contain materials that are carefully selected and organized within a particular field. This means you are more likely to find relevant and specialized sources directly related to your topic.
Quality: Many subject-specific databases include peer-reviewed articles and other high-quality resources, ensuring that the information you find is reliable and scientifically recognized.
Efficiency: By using subject-specific databases, you can save time by avoiding irrelevant results that you might encounter in more general databases.
Depth: These databases often provide access to in-depth research and specialized studies that may not be available in broader databases.
Up-to-date Information: Subject-specific databases are regularly updated with the latest research findings and publications in the field, ensuring that you have access to the most current knowledge.

Grey Literature

Grey literature
Grey literature refers to literature such as research reports, dissertations and conference papers.

Some databases contains conference contributions and dissertations as Scopus, Web of Science and Proquest Dissertations & Theses Global, but it is possible to find grey literature in Google Scholar, SSRN Working Papers or OpenGrey. If you are using Google Scolar, you can search from Publish or Perish, which allows you to download articles (set it to a maximum of 200) and makes the search more transparent. You can then transfer the results to e.g. EndNote (choose RIS format), get the articles updated, and then transfer them to Covidence.

Preprint servers
A preprint refers to a version of a scientific article that precedes peer review and publication. From different subject areas you can find e.g.. medRxiv (health science), bioRxiv (biology) and SocArXiv (social science). Within Humanity there is Hprint, However, preprint servers are not quite as widespread. A list of preprint servers can be found at Wikipedia, but it's not necessarily comprehensive.

Timeline: References vs. citations of an article.

Find journals of high quality

AJC (formerly ABS) is a list of high-quality journals in the many field e.g.business, management, marketing, organizations, innovation, finance and economics..
You need to register to access the list. Click on the logo.
Harzing's Journal Quality List is a collection of journal rankings from various sources within economics, finance, accounting, management, and marketing. The lists are located further down on the page. Click on the logo.

Scientific articles and research

Research Portal Denmark
Danish research - publications collected from local systems of Danish research institutions
Article search in Danish journals - Bibliotek.dk
Overview of major articles published in Danish journals and newspapers. You will receive references to the specific journal or newspaper where the article can be found. From the SDUB's website, you can search for the journal in which the article is printed. If it is a newspaper article, you need to find it in Infomedia.

Infomedia Dette link åbner i et nyt vindue
DANISH ONLY: Full-text newspaper articles from all Danish newspapers. Use it for finding press coverage of companies and people (CEO, board members etc.
Kun adgang for ansatte og studerende ved SDU. Ingen adgang for hospitalsansatte.

Bibliotek.dk
Contains books, articles, and other materials published in Denmark, as well as what is available in Danish public libraries. It is possible to order the material.

Business Source Complete (Ebsco) Dette link åbner i et nyt vindue
Scientific peer-reviewed full-text articles from academic business and economics journals. IMPORTANT DATABASE - especially within the subjects of business, marketing, management, accounting, and finance.
Kun adgang for ansatte og studerende ved SDU. Ingen adgang for hospitalsansatte.
EBSCO host Research Databases Dette link åbner i et nyt vindue
A database host that provides access to a wide range of databases within various subject areas. Business Source Complete is one of the databases.
Kun adgang for ansatte og studerende ved SDU. Ingen adgang for hospitalsansatte.
Emerald Journals Dette link åbner i et nyt vindue
Articles in management and library and information services, engineering, applied science and technology.
Scopus Dette link åbner i et nyt vindue
Who cites whom? Explore the connections in English-language academic literature within a specific field based on bibliographies and citations. Scopus is the largest citation indexing database in the social sciences. The content in the database has a slight European focus.
Web of Science Dette link åbner i et nyt vindue
Who cites whom? Find the connections in English-language academic literature within a specific field based on bibliographies and citations. Web of Science is the oldest citation indexing database. The content in the database has a slight American focus.
Scite AI Dette link åbner i et nyt vindue
Scite AI helps researchers and students better discover and understand research articles through Smart Citations–citations that display the context of the citation and describe whether the article provides supporting or contrasting evidence. Contains a ChatGPT 3.5 based assistant with limited hallucination.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global Dette link åbner i et nyt vindue
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is a comprehensive database that houses a vast collection of academic dissertations and theses from universities around the world. It covers a wide range of disciplines.
Kun adgang for ansatte og studerende ved SDU. Ingen adgang for hospitalsansatte

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
A good source for Open Access articles.

EconLit (Proquest) Dette link åbner i et nyt vindue
Articles on economics issues including: capital markets, country studies, econometrics, forecasting, environmental economics, adjustment, labour market economics, monetary theory and urban economics
Kun adgang for ansatte og studerende ved SDU. Ingen adgang for hospitalsansatte.
IEEE Xplore Dette link åbner i et nyt vindue
IEEE Xplore provides web access to some of the world's most highly-cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. The database covers also e.g. research in product development and technical integration, eCommerce and innovation and entrepreneurship.
NBER Working Papers Dette link åbner i et nyt vindue
NBER Working Papers is a database of working papers within economics, founded in 1920 by the National Bureau of Economic Research, a private, nonprofit research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. The database is intended to make research available to other economists in preliminary form to encourage discussion and suggestions for revision before publication. Only last names are supported in Author searches.
Politics Collection (Proquest) Dette link åbner i et nyt vindue
Covering the international literature in political science and public administration/policy, along with related fields Contains also, country reports, dissertations, think-tank reports, working papers, government documents and more

Kun adgang for ansatte og studerende ved SDU. Ingen adgang for hospitalsansatte.
SAGE Research Methods Dette link åbner i et nyt vindue
Books, journal articles, dictionaries, encyclopedias and videoes of methodological concepts in social sciences.
ScienceDirect Dette link åbner i et nyt vindue
ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.
Social Science Premium Collection (Proquest) Dette link åbner i et nyt vindue
Search across social sciences databases, covering subject areas including Politics, Sociology, Education, Linguistics, and Criminal Justice
Kun adgang for ansatte og studerende ved SDU. Ingen adgang for hospitalsansatte.
WARC Dette link åbner i et nyt vindue
The World Advertising Research Center (WARC) is a comprehensive advertising and marketing information database. WARC provides articles on advertising, marketing, brands and campaigns. It includes case studies, marketing intelligence, best practice guides, consumer insight, industry trends, trends in TV viewing, newspapers and other media, profiles of major brand owners and more. WARC also publishes leading journals including Admap, Market Leader, the Journal of Advertising Research and the International Journal of Market Research.

Enclyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Philosophy and the Social Sciences Dette link åbner i et nyt vindue
About the social and behavioral sciences in existence, published in its second edition in 2015. Contains about 4.000 articles on various subjects and prominent researchers (including researchers from SDU) within all social science disciplines, including psychology.
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences Dette link åbner i et nyt vindue
This encyclopedia combines philosophy and the social sciences. It is an excellent resource for definitions of key terms from anthropology, social theory, and the philosophy of science, among other things.
New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics, third edition Dette link åbner i et nyt vindue
ONLY ACCESS FROM SDU
The dictionary builds on R. H. Inglis Palgrave's original Dictionary of Political Economy (1894-9), which was a landmark in both publishing and economics, providing a liberal and scholarly overview of the sphere of economic thought in its day. Well into the 21st century, it remains a standard work for economists in all spheres of the discipline.

Business Literature Search guide: Databases

Publication type - Choise of database

Why search in subejct specific databases?

Grey Literature

Timeline: References vs. citations of an article.

Find journals of high quality

Scientific articles and research

Enclyclopedias

News: Ebsco Host and Business Source Complete

Business Source Complete

Tip: Business Source Complete - Add abstracts to your Search Result

Scopus