Law in Denmark

Danish law is adopted in the Danish parliament called Folketinget.
Each year, around 200 legislative proposals and 200 resolution proposals are presented in Folketinget.
More on the Danish legislative process here: https://www.ft.dk/da/folkestyret/folketinget/lovgivningsprocessen-i-folketinget (In Danish)

An EU law is called a legal act. The most common forms of legal acts are called regulations and directives.
A regulation is a binding legal act that applies directly in the member states. This means that the EU has decided how the Danish courts and authorities must apply the regulation.
Directives are legal acts that establish a common goal to be achieved in all EU member states. The countries decide themselves how they want to implement the directive and achieve the goal. The countries usually have to implement the directive within two to three years.
When the EU has adopted a directive, it therefore only applies in Denmark when the Danish Parliament has implemented it in Danish legislation.

Danish Law

Retsinformation.dk

Retsinformation.dk is the entrance to the Danish legal information system. It provides access to all applicable laws, executive orders, and circulars.
You can also find Parliamentary documents and reports from the Parliamentary Ombudsman in the system.

Karnov: You can also find the Danish applicable law in Karnov

Karnov's collection of laws contains all significant Danish laws with associated amendments. The laws are annotated.

How to search in Karnov:
Example: The Danish Constitution (Grundloven)

1. Search for the Constitution in Karnov by typing in “Grundloven”

2. In the star note (*), which are the notes to the entire law, you will find the law's history, progress, interpretations, judgments & decisions, as well as the complete bibliography for the legal commentaries.
In the bibliography, you find the references to the material in their full length.

3. Search for the desired section using the button (Gå til §), or search for the topic in the search field, e.g. "Ministerial Responsibility"
If you click on the section, you will have all the comments for that specific section displayed in the right column, including any judgments and decisions.

Please note that Danish laws can only be found in Danish.

Karnov JURA (Campusadgang) Dette link åbner i et nyt vindue
Uden personligt login er der kun adgang fra et SDU campus. Studerende og ansatte på SDU kan få fjernadgang til Karnovs platform via et personligt login. Klik her for yderligere oplysninger

Karnov Online omfatter alle gældende danske love af praktisk betydning, kommenteret med fortolkninger, principielle domme, administrative afgørelser og litteraturhenvisninger. Dertil indeholder basen flere tidsskrifter med fagspecifik retspraksis, nyheder og analyser.

Possible interesting laws - remember to use the Danish names:
Varemærkeloven - Lovbekendtgørelse 2019-01-29 nr. 88
Ophavsretsloven - LBKG 2023-08-20 nr 1093
Miljøbeskyttelsesloven - LBKG 2023-01-03 nr 5
Designloven - LBKG 2019-01-29 nr 89
Patentloven - LBKG 2019-01-29 nr 90
Lov om Forretningshemmeligheder - L 2018-04-25 nr 309

More on law... (In Danish)

A more thorough description of the various entries to different law databases etc. can be found at the Library's Law portal: https://libguides.sdu.dk/law

European Law

Law and Regulation

The Danish Parliament EU Information Centre
Information on the European Union and the EU legislation in relation to Danish policy.

EUR-Lex Dette link åbner i et nyt vindue
The online gateway to EU Law is updated daily and provides the official and most comprehensive access to EU legal documents, available in all 24 official languages in the EU.
Westlaw International Dette link åbner i et nyt vindue
Westlaw International is a global legal research library containing over 28,000 databases of case law, legislation, law reviews, treaties and directories.

Decisions

The Court of Justice of the European Union
CVRIA is the highest judicial authority in the EU. The court was established in 1952 and is located in Luxembourg. The Court's most important task is to adjudicate on EU law cases, and its rulings are available in several languages.

EUR-Lex Dette link åbner i et nyt vindue Databasen er den fælles indgang til EU-retten. I basen finder du traktater, direktiver, forordninger, afgørelser, konsolideret lovgivning m.m. samt EU’s retspraksis skrevet på de officielle EU-sprog. Dertil giver databasen adgang til Den Europæiske Unions Tidende (EU-Tidende) og dokumenter omhandlende EU's internationale aftaler med tredjelande.

More about the European Union

Council of Europe
The Council of Europe is the leading human rights organisation in Europe. It advocates freedom of expression and of the media, freedom of assembly, equality, and the protection of minorities. The Council also helps member states fight corruption and terrorism and undertake necessary judicial reforms.
The Danish Parliament EU Information Centre
Information on the European Union and the EU legislation in relation to Danish policy.
Europa.eu
The official website of the European Union.

European Commission Law Dette link åbner i et nyt vindue
The European Commission’s website on European law.
Learn about EU law and how national governments apply it. Find information on EU court judgments, competition rules, data protection, fraud, infringements, serious crime and cross-border cooperation.

The European Parliament
The Parliament acts as a co-legislator, sharing with the Council the power to adopt and amend legislative proposals and to decide on the EU budget.

Westlaw International Dette link åbner i et nyt vindue - please note: When entering the Westlaw database, the first webpage you meet you will be asked to agree to the “Westlaw International Academic User Agreement.” Westlaw International is a global legal research library containing over 28,000 databases of case law, legislation, law reviews, treaties and directories.

Case Competition : Law and Legislation